Toscano

Location: UB City, Bangalore

Summary: Excellent Italian fare, at expensive prices.

A few days back saw me at Toscano’s for dinner after a long hiatus. I visited this place after almost a year. I was excited; I cherished memories of the medium rare steak served on a sliver of garlic-infused bok choy. It probably was my first steak after coming back to India, and reassured me that food was not going to be what I miss from the USA. I also recalled that the price-tag was a little higher than what I was usually comfortable with. What I had forgotten was that I had gone during lunch hours. I am assuming  Toscano has a separate dinner menu (for instance, as does it’s neighbor, Cafe Noir). Otherwise the rates have risen sharply.

Ok, enough about the prices. I will not mention them again.

We came in early (for someone had a train to catch). It might be the reason why we didn’t need reservations, for otherwise, on a weekend evening it’s not easy to find a table. I know for I have been bitten once. While we pored over the menu deciding what to eat, the breads arrived with the garlic butter peppered with Italian herbs, and, what I believe was crushed basil in olive oil. The breads were fresh enough, and the condiments were relishing. I gobbled them up, although I was not at my hungriest.

Our table ended up with three pizzas and two pastas. I chose the pig route, ordering the Capriccioso, a wood-over baked thin crust pizza with artichokes, black olives, mushrooms complementing the cooked ham and pepperoni. Since I was the only non-vegetarian, I stuck to my own dish while the others shared their food and joy, but I pitched in with the ooh-aahs of deliciousness.

Then came the desserts. We ordered three: the tiramisu, the kahlua mousse in almond tuile, and the warm walnut brownie with vanilla ice-cream. Molto Bello! Molto Bello!
I would’ve preferred the brownie a few degrees warmer, and the mousse without the kahlua, but the tiramisu, oh the tiramisu! It was superbe. And I say that as a person who is not a great fan of that particular dessert. Only once I have been struck by it (at a small shop in Champaign, IL!), but this one reached similar heights. One could surely go there just for that.

Well done, Toscano, well done.

This entry was posted in Taste. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

